Zucchini Cakes with Feta

I came across this recipe in the Washington Post and immediately clipped it out. I rarely make zucchini at home and wanted to add another vegetable to our diet. These cakes are easy to prepare, it made a great after-school snack,  and I was pleasantly surprised to see my teenage son ask for them at breakfast. No trouble getting my husband and 8-year old to wolf them down either. I used a non-stick electric griddle and could make 8-10 cakes at a time with very little oil.

(Makes 15-18 3inch cakes)

  • 1 1/2 cup grated zucchini
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 cup chopped Italian parsley
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • Greek Yogurt (for dipping)

1) Toss grated zucchini and salt i a bowl and set aside for 5 minutes. Then transfer to a sieve, press out the excess liquid, and transfer to a dry bowl.

2) Mix in egg, flour, feta, parsley, onion, dill, and salt. If batter is runny, add some more flour.

3) Heat oil in a griddle and drop batter and spread lightly. Cook till golden about 5 minutes per side.

MAKE AHEAD: Can be made 1 day in advance and rewarmed uncovered on a baking sheet at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. I reheated 4-5 at a time in the microwave for 30 seconds and let it rest for a minute.

NOTE: I skipped the parsley, substituted red onions for the green, and increased the dill to 1/4 cup. Since I used a non-stick griddle, I also used very little oil.

Leave a Reply

