Baked Maddur Vada

Baked Maddur Vada

Those who grew up traveling the Bangalore-Mysore roads will remember the stops made at Maddur for vada and coffee/tea. As a little girl, I remember going to Mysore with my uncle and cousins in his Jeep to visit his family (no moms in tow), stopping at Maddur to eat these vadas off newspaper squares. I vaguely recall a tiny shop on the Maddur railway station platform that made these – they were somehow crispy yet soft at the same time, and the chutney was just as delicious.

These baked Maddur Vadas are savory and crisp; light and delicious. While visiting my grandma few weeks ago, my uncle mentioned that he had made these, and I had to try a few. My husband loves crunchy Indian snacks and can go through a dozen at a time. I figured that baked is better than fried. Very easy to make, and stores for a few weeks (if it lasts that long), I found the recipe on The Cooks Collection website. I made small adjustments to suit our taste. Enjoy!

For those who prefer the real deal, I will add the real Maddur Vada recipe that I got from my aunt who happens to be from Ganjam – a small town near Maddur. It’s an absolutely must-try recipe.

Baked Maddur Vada

(Makes about 3 dozen)

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3-4 Tbsp butter (melted)
  • 1/3 cup oil (warm)
  • 1 big onion (chop fine) – I prefer red onion
  • 4 green chillies (chop fine)
  • 1/3 bunch cilantro leaves (chop) – optional
  • 6 curry leaves (chop fine)
  • 2 Tbsp sesame seeds

1) In a large bowl, combine all ingredients by hand till well mixed. The oil and butter will make the mix lumpy, but that’s okay.

2) Sprinkle about 1/8 cup water and mix the dough, kneading well.

3) Cover with a damp paper towel and set aside for about 30 minutes. (Around 20 minutes, lightly knead the dough to see if it is ‘wet’ enough – the salt in the dough will make the onions release water which will be ample. If still dry, sprinkle as little water as necessary and mix again. Let it sit few more minutes.)

4) Preheat oven to 325* F and lightly grease cookie sheets.

5) Roll out the dough balls as thinly as possible and cut into circles ( I used the top of a peanut butter jar – 4 to 5 inches across).

6) Place on cookie tray and prick the tops of the dough with a fork to allow steam to escape and make them crisp.

7) Bake at 325* for about 22-25 minutes, watching that they do not burn. Can be flipped over in the last few minutes of baking.

8) Cool completely and store in an airtight container.

 

Leave a Reply

